Sentinel (Covenant #5)

Standard

Sentinel (Covenant, #5)

It’s always difficult to finish a series. There is always that pang of loss when you realize that you won’t get more new adventures with the characters you’ve grown to love or hate. Some of the characters that you disliked redeem themselves at the end, while others secure their places at your villain list.

The Covenant series wasn’t any different. I started Sentinel with mixed feelings. I was happy to start another book in this series, but I was also sad, as I knew it was the last one. In spite of the mixed feelings, I couldn’t stop reading. The rational choice would be to draw out the reading and make the book last longer. But I couldn’t. I stayed up late reading this, telling myself ‘Just one more chapter’. When I finally turned off the light, I was halfway through. And I’ve just finished.

I know some people don’t like this series. That’s their prerogative. I, however, loved this series, the world building, the characters, and the plot. I think Sentinel was a great way to end the series. The loose ends were tied up nicely (I was worried for a chapter at the end, though).  It would be interesting if we could get a novella set after the ending of Sentinel showing a bit of the future of the characters. I’m not holding my breath, as the author is involved in quite a bit of other projects.

Alex is one of my favorite heroines. She has a lot on her plate and she still manages to be snarky. Some of her lines made me laugh. And wherever she goes, Aiden follows, which is a very nice bonus. If Alex is one of my favorite heroines, Aiden is one of my favorite hotties. He also has some very good lines!

This series also had other good characters, like Apollo, Olivia and Caleb. But the one that changed the most, in my opinion, was Seth. By the third book, I despised him. But on this final book of the series, he redeemed himself in my eyes.

As the book just came out, I’m not going to discuss the plot, as I don’t to spoil anything. But I will say that it a good way to end the series. The climax was not hurried, in my opinion. Armentrout took her time with it, and that was a really good thing. I find that several books have hurried resolutions, which disappoints me quite a bit. Not so here. The only disappointment I had was that I didn’t get to see several characters after the big showdown. And that’s why I’d really like a novella set after Sentinel.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

