A Want So Wicked (A Need So Beautiful #2)

Standard

A Want So Wicked (A Need So Beautiful, #2)

 

Synopsis first (taken from here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12924307-a-want-so-wicked):

“Elise is a normal seventeen-year-old girl until the day she wakes up in a desert park, with no idea who she is.

After that episode, her life takes a bizarre turn. She’s experiencing unexpected flashes of insight into people’s lives—people she’s never met before. Strangers frighten her with warnings about the approaching Shadows. And although Elise has never had a boyfriend, she suddenly finds herself torn between two handsome but very different young men: Abe, the charming bad boy whose effect on her both seduces and frightens her, and the mysterious Harlin, who’s new to town but with whom Elise feels an urgent, elemental connection—almost as if they are soul mates.

Now Elise begins to question everything about her life. Why do these guys both want her so desperately? What are the Shadows? Why does the name Charlotte inspire a terrifying familiarity? And who is Elise, really?”

 

This book, before yesterday, had been for quite a long time in my to-read list. And, to be honest, if it weren’t for the fact that my iPod is absolutely refusing to upload new books, it would have stayed there a while longer. I read the first book quite a while ago, but I remembered it had quite an unique take on angels. I can’t make comments about the plot of that book, as I don’t remember the details of it.

The plot of this second book is not exactly compelling. There is a twist towards the end, but even that was quite predictable. To be blunt, I’d say that Elise was the only one who didn’t figure out who the bad guy was before he revealed himself. To be honest, I found the whole plot to be quite predictable.

This book is also the final book in the series. There is a novella set after that, but I don’t think I’ll be reading it. In truth, I was expecting this to be a trilogy, but it seems that won’t happen. Which is quite disappointing, as I’m not really satisfied with the ending. I didn’t feel like I got closure, and that’s a feeling I don’t like. I’m not giving up on the author, as I have another book written by her in my to-read list. It’s in a very different genre (while this one is firmly in the paranormal genre, the other one, The Program, is a dystopia).

To sum it up, this was an okay read. I liked the different tack on angels. Other than that, I can’t say that anything really stands out in this book.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

