Bloodrose (Nightshade #3)

Standard

Bloodrose (Nightshade, #3)

 

As November has turned into sequel-reading month, I have been reading quite a few of them lately. On the one hand, it is good to finish a series, but it also means saying goodbye to a set of characters. Bloodrose is the final instalment of the Nightshade trilogy, by Andrea Cremer. Before I begin the review, I’ll borrow a synopsis from Goodreads (original here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8130839-bloodrose):

“But now that the final battle is upon her, there’s more at stake than fighting. There’s saving Ren, even if it incurs Shay’s wrath. There’s keeping Ansel safe, even if he’s been branded a traitor. There’s proving herself as the pack’s alpha, facing unnamable horrors, and ridding the world of the Keepers’ magic once and for all. And then there’s deciding what to do when the war ends. If Calla makes it out alive, that is. In this remarkable final installment of the Nightshade trilogy, international bestselling author Andrea Cremer crafts a dynamic novel with twists and turns that will keep you breathless until its final pages.”

 

Finishing a series is a huge task for an author, in my opinion. After all, he or she has to make sure all the important questions are answered while still crafting a story. In some cases, it lives up to expectations. In others, it doesn’t. Of course, it all depends on the reader. In my particular case, I was not entirely satisfied with it.

I’d have to say that my biggest issue with this book was the resolution of the love triangle. As a lot of YA books out there, this series features a love triangle, which I don’t quite like. But I like it even less when the couple that makes it to the end is not the one I wanted. And that’s what happened here, so my opinion of the romantic bits of the story is quite biased.

The showdown at the end was pretty satisfying, up until a certain point. But the buildup to that showdown felt a bit rushed, especially considered the timeframe in which the whole book takes place (a week, more or less, if I’m not mistaken). I can’t complain about the pace of the showdown. It was filled with action, but without being as rushed as I’ve seen in other books. After the showdown, things got a little weird. It made sense, logically, but not emotionally. The author made an unexpected choice, in my opinion. And that choice made the ending very final, in a way.

Rationally, the author achieved her goal of tying the important loose ends. Emotionally, though, it was not very satisfying. Again, it might very well be because Calla didn’t end up with the guy I wanted her to. It seems that there is a sequel for that series in the workds, as well as a prequel, but I don’t really care about that set of characters, so I don’t think I’ll be reading either of them.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

