Legacy (Night School #2)

Standard

Legacy (Night School, #2)

 

“In the last year, Allie’s survived three arrests, two breakups and one family breakdown. The only bright point has been her new life at Cimmeria Academy. It’s the one place she’s felt she belongs. And the fact that it’s brought dark-eyed Carter West into her life hasn’t hurt either. But far from being a safe haven, the cloistered walls of Cimmeria are proving more dangerous than Allie could have imagined. The students and faculty are under threat, and Allie’s family – from her mysterious grandmother to her runaway brother – are at the centre of the storm. Allie is going to have to choose between protecting her family and trusting her friends. But secrets have a way of ripping even the strongest relationships apart…” (taken from Goodreads, original here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15757366-legacy)

This book has an interesting plot. Sadly, the same cannot be said about the characters. Allie, the main character, came across as being exceedingly naive and, at points, downright stupid. Her rushing into action, for instance, without thinking ahead was annoying. But what bothered me the most was the ease with which she broke promises made to her boyfriend, Carter. Carter was also a bit of an annoying character. His insecurity weighed him down too much. There was one scene that left me staring in disbelief, thanks to Carter’s reaction and Allie’s inability to react.

As I said, the plot is quite interesting to me, though I still don’t know how Night School, with all its patrol and combat classes will help its students become leaders in various fields. I am curious to understand more about the conflict between Isabelle and Nathaniel, which has not been adequately explained so far. And now that Lucinda is in the mix, I’m even more intrigued.

I was not satisfied with the ending of this book. It was not much of an ending, no explanations were given, it just ended. And it was not even a cliffhanger.

There were some nice dialogues and some nice character interactions, but I have to say that the characters themselves disappointed me a bit. I’d say that Zoe Glass was an exception, but that’s about it. At this point, I’m in no rush to read the next book, though I’m pretty sure I’ll read it a couple of months from now.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

