The Bitter Kingdom (Fire and Thorns #3)

Standard

The Bitter Kingdom (Fire and Thorns, #3)

 

“The epic conclusion to Rae Carson’s Fire and Thorns trilogy. The seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen will travel into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny.

Elisa is a fugitive in her own country. Her enemies have stolen the man she loves in order to lure her to the gate of darkness. As she and her daring companions take one last quest into unknown enemy territory to save Hector, Elisa will face hardships she’s never imagined. And she will discover secrets about herself and her world that could change the course of history. She must rise up as champion-a champion to those who have hated her most.” (Taken from Goodreads. Original can be found here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11431896-the-bitter-kingdom)

I’m not sure I have much to say about this book.

I have to confess that, while this trilogy kept me entertained, it does not figure on my top 10 list. I don’t know why, I guess I didn’t really connect with the story or the characters.

I do recognize that Elisa, as a character, grew up a lot. In the first book, she was a whiny princess. In the second book, she was a bit more of a warrior. In this book, she grew to become a queen. The fact remains that I didn’t coonect with her. As for her romance with Hector, I felt like it lacked a bit of spark. I felt that Hector came across as a bit mellow at points, which does not fit, at least in my head, with the image of a soldier in the important position of commanding the Royal Guard.

As for the story, I felt like it was a good conclusion to Elisa’s story. However, so many bigger questions, which were mentioned in the very final pages, remained unanswered, which disappointed me quite a bit. And I have to confess that it didn’t make that much sense to me. Why bring up all those questions (and thus remind the reader that they exist) and not answer them?

The secondary characters were the one I came to care the most about, and I still don’t know what happened to them. What about Belén and Mara? What about Storm? And what about Red, the feisty girl with a very mysterious background and who is at the centre of one of the big questions? And Rosario, what happened to him?

The one big relief was the fact that Elisa didn’t touch her navel nearly as much in this book. There is a reason for that, but I won’t spoil it.

All in all, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. I was expecting more answers, as they are usually revealed in the final book of a series. And that expectation was frustrated. If I had known it would go like this before I picked this book up, maybe I would have enjoyed it more.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

