Prodigy (Legend #2)

Standard

Prodigy (Legend, #2)

 

“Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?”

– Taken from Goodreads (Original here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13414446-prodigy)

 

After my bad experience with Reached, I was wary of reading another dystopia. But I had already scheduled to read this one, and I really liked the first book in this series, so I decided to give it a chance. And I’m glad I did.

While I still think that Legend was a better book than ProdigyProdigy still managed to keep me entertained. I did miss the feeling of suspense from the first book. I did not, however, see the twist at the end coming. New characters were introduced, and we got to know more about the characters from Legend. Sadly, we also had to say goodbye to some of them (the one I really wouldn’t be able to say goodbye to has survived another book. Let’s hope it continues that way). There is also, at the end, an important piece of news regarding Day that will probably affect him a lot in the next book.

So far, there is not much to make me think that a revolution will happen in Champion, the final book in this trilogy, especially give how Prodigy ended.

One thing that I disliked in this book was the developments in Tess’ and Day’s friendship. Both of them annoyed me whenever they had a dialogue alone, as I thought they were acting imaturely (they are teenagers, that’s true, but with all they’ve seen and done, they should be more mature by now).

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

