The Summoning (Darkest Powers Trilogy #1)

Standard

The Summoning (Darkest Powers, #1)

 

“My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost – and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? it’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House…before its skeletons come back to haunt me.”

– Taken from Goodreads (Original here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2800905-the-summoning)

When I came across this book on Goodreads, the synopsis didn’t quite persuade me, but the ratings did. After all, it is quite difficult to find a first book in a paranormal trilogy with high ratings. But I was left a bit disappointed. The book started really well, with an involving story. But, after the middle, I don’t really know what happened, but it didn’t keep my interest as much as it had at the beginning.

There was quite a big twist toward the end, that’s true, but even that left me going ‘meh’ toward this book. I don’t have much to say about this book, really. The one thing that was, at first, different, was the fact that Chloe, the main characters, sometimes pictured the scenes as if she were a movie director. But after a while, I felt like this was overused and lost its appeal.

At this point, I’m not really sure if I’ll continue to read this series. On the one hand, I already have the other two books in this trilogy. On the other, I’m not motivated at all to keep reading this trilogy.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

