The Naturals (Unknown Series Title #1)

Standard

The Naturals

 

“Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But it’s not a skill that she’s ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they’ve begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie.

What Cassie doesn’t realize is that there’s more at risk than a few unsolved homicides— especially when she’s sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own.

Sarcastic, privileged Michael has a knack for reading emotions, which he uses to get inside Cassie’s head—and under her skin. Brooding Dean shares Cassie’s gift for profiling, but keeps her at arm’s length.

Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms closer than Cassie could ever have imagined. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13597723-the-naturals)

Yet another book read (what can I do? It’s the holidays, and so far the day is quiet). This one was, in my opinion, a very good read. At first, the concept reminded me of the defunct TV show Lie To Me, which I really liked (both the show and the concept).

I was already familiar with the author, having read her Raised by Wolves series, which I enjoyed. I already liked her writing style before reading The Naturals, but now I like it even more. I liked the plot, I liked the characters, and I liked the world building. I also liked the glimpses into the killer’s mind.

As for the ending, I wasn’t able to predict it. The author kept me guessing the killer’s identity until the end, and when the killer was revealed, I was really surpised. What did not surprise me was the existence of a love traingle *sigh*. At least, the story wasn’t too heavy on that side. I missed seeing more of the other character’s background as well as of Cassie’s Italian family.

I don’t know the name of the series yet, but there is going to be a sequel (as announced in the final pages of The Naturals), which I’m already waiting for.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

