Champion (Legend #3)

Standard

Champion (Legend, #3)

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.”

-Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14290364-champion)

I usually dislike the endings of dystopian series (Allegiant, for instance, was a disaster in my opinion). Because of this, I was hesitant to read Champion, the final book in the Legend series. While I wanted to know how it all ended, I was still afraid it would turn into a huge wreck.

In this case, my fear was unfounded. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. Before I started reading it, I read some reviews that said it had a lot of politics, and it was boring because of it. I actually liked reading the scenes involving politics and diplomacy (blame it on my degree). Another fear of mine, regarding Ollie, was also unfounded, which was a relief (albeit a tiny bit unrealistic, come to think of it).

The characters were forced to grow up before their time, especially Tess and Eden. Day and June were also forced to grow up as well, and make some really hard choices. The hardest choice of the book, for me, came at the end and it was made by June. Once you’ve read the book, you’ll know what I’m talking about, there’s no mistaking it. June’s choice really broke my heart. It’s not a sad end, though. I thought it was poignant and full of hope. It was not a closed end either, which means that Marie Lu is free to come back to this world if she wants to.

While this series is, for now, finished (I really, really hope it is finished and Lu doesn’t make the same choice that Cassandra Clare did), I already have her upcoming release in my to-read shelf. I’ll definitely read it as soon as it comes out (it’s highly unlikely I’ll get an ARC, right?).

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

