Alice In Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1)

Standard

Alice in Zombieland (The White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish
.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11300302-alice-in-zombieland?from_search=true)

I never thought I’d read a zombie book. In fact, I have been known to state I’d never, ever read a zombie book. Never say never, right? I received a digital copy of it, checked the ratings (which were high), and I wasn’t entirely convinced. But then I found someone that wanted to read it with me and decided to take the plunge. After finishing it, I have mixed feelings.

I’m not yet sold on the hype around zombies. I still don’t like them. I have to admit, however, that Alice In Zombieland has as unusual take on zombies. Which doesn’t mean it is gore-free (it doesn’t have as much as I’d expected, though). If there were no zombies here, I’d be much happier. On the other hand, without zombies there would be no story…

The most recurrent thought I had during this book was ‘Will Ali ever have a break?’. I’m not going to go into details here, but if you do decide to pick this up, be prepared: Ali is a survivor, and you should be ready to see her going through a lot. She is not alone, as she has a sidekick, Kat, who is amazing albeit a bit vapid at times, and there is also a hottie thrown in for good measure. Cole is a bad boy with a cause, there’s no denying that.

As for the plot, it has plenty of action, with a dash of romance on the side. There also some twists, that I didn’t see coming. I also liked the writing style, especially the way we are able to get into Ali’s head. She is a snarky, tough girl, and I loved her for it. Am I going to read the sequel, you ask? I really don’t know. As I’ve said before, I’m not sold on zombies. For now, the sequel will go to my ‘maybe’ shelf.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 (because of the zombies)

Leave a Reply

