Death And The Girl Next Door (Darklight #1)

Standard

Death and the Girl Next Door (Darklight #1)

“Sophomore Year Was Never Supposed to be This Complicated

Ten years ago, Lorelei McAlister’s parents disappeared without a trace, ans she is finally beginning to accept the fact that they’re never coming back. Life must go on. She’s got her grandparents and the support of her best friends, and high school is not quite as painful as she thought it would be.

But This is What Happens When You Fall for the Angel of Death.

Until the day the school’s designated loner, Cameron Lusk, begins to stalk her, turning up where she least expects it, standing outside her house in the dark, tough, sexy Jared Kovach – comes to school. Cameron and Jared instantly despise each other, and Lorelei seems to be the reason for their animosity.

Life as She Knows it is About to Change Forever.

What does Fared know about her parents? Why does Cameron tell Jared he can’t have Lorelei? And what will any of them do when Death comes knocking for real? Thrilling, sassy, sexy, and inventive, Death and the Girl Next Door proves Darynda Jones is a force to be reckoned with.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12986492-death-and-the-girl-next-door)

I came across this book while chekcing the author’s profile on Goodreads, looking for other books written by her. I already knew her adult paranormal series, and am eagerly awaiting for the next book to be relased. It was then that I found out that she has a YA trilogy. The first book went, of course, to my to-read shelf.

It was a quick and very enjoyable read, with several funny dialogues, especially toward the end. Another positive aspect was the absence of a love triangle. While reading the synopsis, I thought this was going to be yet another YA series with a love triangle (I have no love for them). I was delighted to learn that it was not the case here.

However, I had a few issues with this book. Firstly, the main characters can chat up a storm. At points, I found it very hard to keep track of the different conversations going on at the same time. During several scenes, a relevant conversation, with answers to questions relevant to the plot would be swamped by a conversation that, while funy, would not further the plot.

Another issue was the twist at the end. I thought that some aspects of it were taken a bit too far. Namely, and without giving too much away, the ‘Taken’ thing. Other things at the end had me going ‘Wait, what?’, but that was the biggest one for me, and the most distraction.

If you’re looking for romance, there is not much in this book. There is, however, a lot of romantic tension. For me, that’s perfect, as I don’t like it when the romance becomes more important than the plot.

The next book is already on my to-read shelf, though I don’t know yet when exactly I’ll read it. I’m not overly fond of reading sequels immediately after, as I find I need some time away from the characters and the world building.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

