Streaks of Blue

Standard

Streaks of Blue: How the Angels of Newtown Inspired One Girl to Save Her School

“Adam Upton and Thomas “Lee” Harvey are plotting the next big school massacre at their New Hampshire high school. Nicole Janicek, who knew Adam in elementary school, tries to reconnect with the damaged teen at the start of their senior year. But will Nicole’s attempt to befriend the would-be killer disrupt the plot and turn Adam’s life around before the clock strikes 12:14?”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18372527-streaks-of-blue?from_search=true)

I’d like to thank NetGalley and John Cullen for kindly providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

I’m not going to beat around the bush. I didn’t like this book. I couldn’t connect with the characters nor the story. While I know that all the shootings in schools in the past years were human tragedies and understand the author’s intentions with this book, it just fell flat to me.

But what I disliked the most was the fact that there is constantly a lesson to be learned from this book. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind it when a book makes me think. What I dislike is when this is done in an extremely obvious way. For me, the book has to me more subtle in its teachings.

Furthermore, I could not engage with the writing style, as it felt too flat for me. At the same time, I couldn’t sympatizhe with the characters. Nicole came across as too perfect, while Adam was too flawed.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Leave a Reply

