Gravity (The Taking #1)

Standard

Gravity (The Taking, #1)

“In the future, only one rule will matter:

Don’t. Ever. Peek.

Seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander just broke that rule and saw the last person she expected hovering above her bed — arrogant Jackson Locke, the most popular boy in her school. She expects instant execution or some kind of freak alien punishment, but instead, Jackson issues a challenge: help him, or everyone on Earth will die.

Ari knows she should report him, but everything about Jackson makes her question what she’s been taught about his kind. And against her instincts, she’s falling for him. But Ari isn’t just any girl, and Jackson wants more than her attention. She’s a military legacy who’s been trained by her father and exposed to war strategies and societal information no one can know — especially an alien spy, like Jackson. Giving Jackson the information he needs will betray her father and her country, but keeping silent will start a war.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12844575-gravity)

This book has a very interesting beginning, though I found it hard to picture the Taking. There were some other things that I found hard to picture, but I’m afraid I’d be giving too much away if I listed them here. The world building was very interesting, though it did raise some questions while I was reading, especially about how the society introduced in the story came to exist. Some authors merely skim over the history part, but I really enjoy it when I know what happened. I must say that the author, while not skimming over the history of the society, could have put some more information in the book. Furthermore, I thought that some of the scientific explanations could have been better developed.

As for the characters, I’m not entirely sure about them. I couldn’t really connect to them, to their emotions. Ari was a strong heroine, there’s no denying that. Her whole life she has been raised to believe certain things, to act in a certain way. However, when the time comes for her to question her beliefs and actions, she does it without a second thought and she embraces the challenges that come up in the book. There’s no whining coming from her. But still, I couldn’t bring myself to really care whether she lived or died. The same goes for the other characters.

Plotwise, I have to confess that, while reading this book, I was more interested in the political developments than  the action. I don’t really know why. I’m not sure if it was my mood or the way this was written. The one thing that really intrigued me came right at the end, and that was the cliffhanger. Yes, this book has a bit of a cliffhanger. The good thing is that the next book is already out. The cliffhanger was not, in my opinion, strong enough to make me need to read the sequel straightaway, but it kept my interest in the series.

Overall, this was a nice read. It was nothing to write home about, but it kept me entertained and didn’t make me want to just reach the end and be done with it.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

