Such Sweet Sorrow

Standard

Such Sweet Sorrow

“Never was there a tale of more woe than this of Juliet and her Romeo…But true love never dies. Though they’re parted by the veil between the world of mortals and the land of the dead, Romeo believes he can restore Juliet to life, but he’ll have to travel to the underworld with a thoroughly infuriating guide.

Hamlet, Prince of Denmark, may not have inherited his father’s crown, but the murdered king left his son a much more important responsibility—a portal to the Afterjord, where the souls of the dead reside. When the determined Romeo asks for help traversing the treacherous Afterjord, Hamlet sees an opportunity for adventure, and the chance to avenge his father’s death.

In an underworld filled with leviathan monsters, ghoulish shades, fire giants and fierce Valkyrie warriors, Hamlet and Romeo must battle their way through jealousy, despair, and their darkest fears to rescue the fair damsel. Yet finding Juliet is only the beginning, and the Afterjord doesn’t surrender souls without a price…”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18050009-such-sweet-sorrow?ac=1)

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Entangled Teen for providing me with a free copy in exchange for a honest review.

This is, essentially, two pieces from Shakespeare meeting, namely, Romeo and Juliet and Hamlet. I’ve never read them, but I am familiar with them (Romeo and Juliet more so than Hamlet). The synopsis also looked promising, so I decided to request this book. It turned out to be an okay read.

I don’t really know why, but it just didn’t click with me. It was not lack of action, as this book has plenty of action. It also has plenty of mythological elements, which I usually love. Maybe it was just too much, for me, to take established characters and put them in an extremely fantastical setting. As I’ve already said, I couldn’t get into the story nor create a link with the characters.

By the ending, it felt like there should be a sequel, but I don’t know if there is actually going to be one (Goodreads is silent on this). If there is, I’m not sure I’ll read it.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

