Scarlet (Scarlet #1)

Standard

Scarlet (Scarlet, #1)

“Many readers know the tale of Robin Hood, but they will be swept away by this new version full of action, secrets, and romance.

Posing as one of Robin Hood’s thieves to avoid the wrath of the evil Thief Taker Lord Gisbourne, Scarlet has kept her identity secret from all of Nottinghamshire. Only the Hood and his band know the truth: the agile thief posing as a whip of a boy is actually a fearless young woman with a secret past. Helping the people of Nottingham outwit the corrupt Sheriff of Nottingham could cost Scarlet her life as Gisbourne closes in.

It’s only her fierce loyalty to Robin—whose quick smiles and sharp temper have the rare power to unsettle her—that keeps Scarlet going and makes this fight worth dying for.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11983940-scarlet?bf=1000&from_search=true)

This lives up to its ratings in my opinion. I’m not overly fond of retellings, but this one was a happy exception to the rule. I’ve had this book for forever, but I needed a challenge to make me read it. It always makes me kick myself a bit when I realize I could have read a good book much sooner, but that’s life.

I have to confess that, at first, I wasn’t sure whether or not I’d like it. Not because of the plot or the characters, but because of the writing style. You see, the author made a risky choice to tell this story through the POV of a character that doesn’t speak proper Enligsh. This means that the text doesn’t follow the grammar rules. But after a few pages, that didn’t bother me anymore.

Scarlet is a very strong heroine. She has a secret past, one that is slowly revealed throughout the book, and that molded her character. She also hides the fact that she is a girl, which leads to some funny scenes. As for the other characters, I liked Much the best, as he is strong in his own way.

I didn’t care much for the love triangle, as it didn’t make me torn. Scarlet belongs with Robin and that’s it. It was a bit frustrating, though, to see that the love triangle remained unresolved far longer than it needed to, but it didn’t distract me too much.

As for the villain, I’d really like to know more about him. Is there a reason for his evilness or he was just born this way (no pun intended). It’s just that I love bad guys, but he is not that loveable, even I have to admit it.

All in all, it was a surprisingly good read, full of action, not a lot of romance, and nice characters. I am definitely going to read the sequel, but I don’t know when yet.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

