Perfect Ruin (The Internment Chronicles #1)

Standard

Perfect Ruin (Internment Chronicles, #1)

“On the floating city of Internment, you can be anything you dream, unless you approach the edge. Morgan Stockhour knows getting too close can lead to madness, like her older brother Len, a Jumper. She takes solace in her best friend Pen, and in Basil, the boy she’s engaged to marry. When she investigates the first murder in a generation, she meets Judas. The suspect was betrothed to the victim, but Morgan believes he is innocent. Nothing can prepare Morgan for the secrets she will find – or whom she will lose.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18076780-perfect-ruin?bf=1000&from_search=true)

This was the first book I read by Lauren DeStefano, even though Wither has been sitting on my want-to-read shelf for ages (Can’t get my hands on a copy…). The first and foremost thing on my mind when I finished this book was that the world building was a bit confusing. That, I’ve been told, is a common trait in her DeStefano’s books.

In my opinion, the world building could have been better. I was left wondering how their world came to be (and no, religious explanations just don’t cut it with me). Besides that, there were several issues and questions raised that, in my opinion, didn’t receive the attention they deserved. One of them: why are Jumpers thought to be so dangerous?

Because I was distracted trying to figure out the world building, I didn’t give much attention to the characters and the plot. What I can say is that Morgan, the main character, is not the most interesting heroine out there. She seems to be stuck in a cycle of worrying about other people and their problems and then switching to worrying that she might be going insane that I wasn’t able to really get to know her. What are her aspirations, for instance? I have no clue… To be honest, the most fascinating character was Pen, Morgan’s best friend.

As for the plot, it moved at an okay speed. It didn’t make me sit on the edge of my seat, but it didn’t make me flinch either. It did make me suspect that the whole thing is actually an experiment. If that suspicion is confirmed in the next book, I might consider dropping the series, depending on how it’s done.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

