Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3)

Standard

Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy, #3)

“It’s springtime at St. Vladimir’s Academy, and Rose Hathaway is this close to graduation. Since making her first Strigoi kills, Rose hasn’t been feeling quite right. She’s having dark thoughts, behaving erratically, and worst of all… might be seeing ghosts.

As Rose questions her sanity, new complications arise. Lissa has begun experimenting with her magic once more, their enemy Victor Dashkov might be set free, and Rose’s forbidden relationship with Dimitri is starting to heat up again. But when a deadly threat no one saw coming changes their entire world, Rose must put her own life on the line – and choose between the two people she loves most.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2802316-shadow-kiss?bf=1000&from_search=true)

It’s been nearly a week since I finished this book, and I still don’t know what to write about it. I had been composing this review in my mind while I was reading, but when the ending came, it was blown to smithereens.

Rose was still the strong girl I’ve come to wish was my friend. She stands up for herself (maybe a little too much at times) and she has to manage the bond she has with Lissa. Let me tell you, that bond is more and more troublesome. As for the other characters, they are also very enjoyable, especially Christian and Dimitri. Lissa is a little more laid back, not as likely to engage in banter as the other two.

As for the plot, it is, once again, full of action. There is not a dull moment in Rose’s life. The Strigoi are a constant threat, she is trying to learn more about the bond she shares with Lissa. Oh, and I can’t forget about Dimitri. While the focus of the series has not been on the romance between them (which I really like, as I don’t like it when the romance seizes control of all the other plot elements), this book was almost begging for it. And I absolutely loved seeing the romantic scenes between Dimitri and Rose, especially toward the end.

In fact, it were those scenes that made me feel hopeful that this book was going to end in a good way. But then, my hopes were completely blown up and I couldn’t really believe what I was reading. I’d say it was almost cruel for the author to do what she did. Thankfully, the book is already out (in fact, the whole series), which means I don’t have to wait to learn what happens after that heartbreaking end. I don’t usually cry while reading, but the ending of Shadow Kiss had me close to tears.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

