Dying To Forget (The Station #1)

Standard

Dying To Forget (The Station, #1)

“…With trembling fingers, I reach up and touch the hard and chiseled contours of his chest while Ryan’s large and strong hands roam over my entire body, feeling and squeezing everything. I’ve never been touched like this before and my insides are starting to freak out.

“I want you, Piper,” he murmurs into my neck.

My mouth drops open in surprise and even though my brain seems to be telling me to jump and run out of the room, I’m unable to move, stuck firmly to the same place on the mattress. With my nerves on high alert, I glance at the door repeatedly, sure that someone will come bursting through it at any second but the steady thumping of the music downstairs reminds me that no one can hear what is happening in this room. No one cares that Ryan Burke took me, of all people, into a bedroom. That realization hits me suddenly. Oh. My. God. What am I doing here?”

Piper Willow dies the summer after her high school graduation but she doesn’t make it to Heaven or Hell…instead she finds herself in a spiritual terminal called the Station. She’s given only two choices: Return to Earth as the subconscious for a person in need of some outside assistance, or move on and spend an eternity lost in her own sorrow and pain.

Does Piper have what it takes to save a life – to be the nagging voice inside someone else’s head – or will she fail and end up lost and tormented in limbo…forever?”

– Taken form Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15819010-dying-to-forget)

This book was one that I got on a whim, after seeing it was free on Amazon.uk and having it recommended to me on my Goodreads group. Because it fit one of the challenges I’m participating in and it’s a short read, I decided to take the plunge.

Did I regret it? Nope. Could it be better? Yep. But it does tackle one of the greatest taboos still around: suicide. We are usually so scared of death that we don’t understand how someone would be able to take their own life. Piper, our main character, was driven to that extreme. Rather than being sent straight to hell, as several religions would preach, she is given a choice between hell and helping others overcome the despair and hopelessness that so often precede suicide.

Piper decides to become a Volunteer and help others. In this book, we get to see her two first cases. I liked her first better than her second. I think it was just because I got to see more of her first case (and therefore was able to empathize more) whereas the second case felt a bit rushed.

The ending was, in my opinion, heartbreaking. It also made me immediately put the sequel in the want-to-read shelf.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

