Prince Of Thorns (The Broken Empire #1)

Standard

Prince of Thorns (The Broken Empire, #1)

“When he was nine, he watched as his mother and brother were killed before him. At thirteen, he led a band of bloodthirsty thugs. By fifteen, he intends to be king…

It’s time for Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath to return to the castle he turned his back on, to take what’s rightfully his. Since the day he hung pinned on the thorns of a briar patch and watched Count Renar’s men slaughter his mother and young brother, Jorg has been driven to vent his rage. Life and death are no more than a game to him–and he has nothing left to lose. But treachery awaits him in his father’s castle. Treachery and dark magic. No matter how fierce his will, can one young man conquer enemies with power beyond his imagining?”

-Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9579634-prince-of-thorns)

I don’t really know what made me want to read this book. It was not a case of cover love. Maybe I became curious after seeing it displayed a lot on bookstores. And then someone was looking for a reading partner for this. I thought, why not?

After reading this, let me tell you why not. Jorg, the main character, is cruel and ruthless at only 14 years of age. He is capable of killing people he’s known for years without a second thought. Now, I don’t mind cruelty or ruthlessness if it has a purpose or the character is downright insane. And I felt that neither was the case here. Jorg was cruel and ruthless just because he could. Because of this, I couldn’t care less about him. Heck, the author could’ve pulled a Ned Stark on him for all I cared. Only, there would be no character left, as the other characters have no real function other than stand around and be killed.

As for the world building, it was really confusing, and only started to vaguely make sense toward the end. I mean, the descriptions led me to believe this was some kind of alternative medieval setting. And then, weird things started to crop up, such as key authors of Western philosophy, ranging from Plato to Nietzsche. This made me a very confused reader.

The plot was also a bit confusing, and it was not helped by the author’s choices. Jumping back and forward in time (and then having dreams set in the past but that are actually taking place in the present, or something like that) has to be carefully done, so as to not confuse the reader. And that was not the case here, sadly.

The combination of a main character I couldn’t care about, a confusing world building and equally confusing plot, had me skimming some chapters, I confess. And I would glance at how long I still had to read before finally finishing it and cringe. I just wanted it to be over. I guess it’s pretty clear I most definitely will not read the rest of this trilogy.

Rating: 1 out of 5

Leave a Reply

