Legacy Code (Legacy Code Saga #1)

Standard

Legacy Code

The last humans fled a dying Earth 300 years ago, but there was something they couldn’t leave behind: The Legacy Code.

Every colonist in the fleet carries mangled genes that damage the unborn, and half of all pregnancies must be terminated. 

The day Era Corinth is supposed to find out if her baby has the Defect, her ship suffers a hull breach. And it may not have been an accident. 

As the investigation unfolds, Era begins to question everything she’s been taught about the fleet, their search for a new Earth, and the Defect. But the answers she seeks were never meant to be found…”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20987391-legacy-code)

I’d like to thank the author for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

This has an interesting concept, which at points reminded me of Beth Revis’ Across The Universe. However, the characters here are far more mature than the Revis’ characters, in my opinion.
I really liked Era, the main character. While I can’t exactly relate to her situation, as I don’t have any kids, the author did a good job of showing how hurt Era was by the possibility of her child having the Defect. That was, by far, the most interesting storyline, and it would be nice to see if it intersects somehow with the possibility of someone trying to sabotage the enterprise of finding a new planet to live.

Some of the descriptions for the world building were a bit confusing. I couldn’t really understand Era’s job or the role of each ship in the fleet.

This was a very short read, that ended in a cliffhanger. I do think that this cliffhanger’s resolution is quite obvious, but I hope against hope that I’m proven wrong. And I really, really hope this series has a way better ending than Across The Universe did.

Rating: 3 out of 5

 

Leave a Reply

