Storm (Elemental #1)

Standard

Storm (Elemental, #1)

Earth, Fire, Air, Water – they have more power than you dream.

Ever since her ex-boyfriend spread those lies about her, Becca Chandler is suddenly getting all the guys—all the ones she doesn’t want. Then she saves Chris Merrick from a beating in the school parking lot. Chris is different. Way different: he can control water—just like his brothers can control fire, wind, and earth. They’re powerful. Dangerous. Marked for death.

And now that she knows the truth, so is Becca.

Secrets are hard to keep when your life’s at stake. When Hunter, the mysterious new kid around school, turns up with a talent for being in the wrong place at the right time, Becca thinks she can trust him. But then Hunter goes head-to-head with Chris, and Becca wonders who’s hiding the most dangerous truth of all.

The storm is coming . . .”

-Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10401084-storm)

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Constable & Robinson for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

This book has a fast pace, and it shows in the very first scene. It is not excessively fast, which would make me scrambling to understand what was going on, nor is it artificially fast. The first scene also gives an inkling that there is something different with Chris, one of the main characters.

Becca, the heroine, is a girl I could be friends with. I enjoyed her sense of humor and I appreciated her ability to deal with meanness. As for Chris, at first I wasn’t sure I could like him, he seemed too standoffish. As the story progressed, however, I learned that there was a reason for him to behave that way. Hunter comes in later, and he confused the heck out of me. Again, there were reasons for that. I do have to say that I liked Caspar, his dog, more than I liked him, but that’s usually the case whenever there’s a pet involved.

Plotwise, it was very engaging, with Becca and Chris having each their own set of problems to deal with, and they ended up helping each other. There was a twist at the end that both surprised and disappointed me. It surprised me for obvious reasons, as I wasn’t expecting that bombshell. It disappointed me that there was no fallout from that. Furthermore, the ending itself felt a bit abrupt.

I will most definitely read the next book in the series!

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

