In The Mirror

Standard

In the Mirror

If you knew you may die soon, what choices would you make?

Jennifer Benson has it all: a successful career, a perfect husband, two kids and abundant friendships. The only problem is she may be dying. IN THE MIRROR is the realistic love story about a woman facing a deadly illness, and her loves past and present. It’s a story that unfolds with a delightful blend of humor and poignancy, ringing true in the heart of anyone who has ignored a warning of her own.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20941798-in-the-mirror)

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Real You Publishing Group for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

When I came across this book on NetGalley, I was immediately interested. The blurb made it sound like a melancholic book based on an illness that can affect anyone, and that affected people close to me: cancer. Cancer, is, at present, one of the greatest medical mysteries, and anyone who has lived through someone else’s battle with cancer (or even their own battle), knows how terrifying the diagnosis and the prognosis can be, not to mention the treatment itself.

In this book, we are introduced to Jennifer, a woman who has received the diagnosis months after giving birth to her second child. Given her situation, she is, in my opinion, a strong woman, though she has put herself in a terribly lonely situation. Do I understand her reasons for that? Absolutely. Do I accept them? No, not really. Then again, I have never been through this in the way she is. My experience with cancer is nowhere near as life-changing as hers.

Up until the middle of the book, it was very interesting to see how Jennifer and her loved ones were dealing with her illness (or not, in some cases). Then, after the appearance of her ex-boyfriend, the book fell apart. Some plot elements were introduced that I thought were unnecessary and even excessive at points. These plot elements had a purpose that I felt could be achieved in some other way.

Another thing that bothered me quite a bit was the ending. It was not satisfying and it left me missing a sense of closure. It also felt a bit ambiguous (or I just didn’t get it, who knows?). All I know is that, the last sentence left me ‘Wait, what?… Meh.’

It was a good read, with a pleasant writing style, which put some fears in perspective for me.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

