Don’t Look Back

Standard

Don't Look Back

“Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend. 

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13418925-don-t-look-back)

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Hodder & Stoughton for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

Jennifer L. Armentrout is, at present, one of my favorite YA authors. I liked her Covenant series and I’m eagerly waiting for Opposition to come out. Usually, whenever I pick up one of her books, I can plan on forgetting reality until I’m done. The same thing happened with Don’t Look Back.

Because Samantha has lost her memory, we uncover the events at the same time she does. She is not holding any information back, unlike the other characters in this book. Because of this, I could relate to her, and I could sympathize with her. Furthermore, the fact that she lost her memory drove home the point that memories are a key element of our personalities and our behaviors. Take our pasts away and who are we? I could go on and on, but I will refrain from doing so.

The mystery, combined with the memory loss, made for a nearly unputdownable book (I do have to work). Every single snippet of information made me suspect someone different, but I was nowhere near guessing the culprit here. Another thing that was interesting here was how some characters changed from the beginning to the end of this book, thanks to Samantha fresh take on them as well as to new information. Some characters that I’d liked at the beginning became repulsive, and others I disliked became admirable.

As I’ve said, I was really taken by surprise by the end of this book. I couldn’t guess the culprit nor the motive before they were actually revealed. And before I forget, when I first saw the American cover, I couldn’t make sense of it. By the end, though, it made perfect sense.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

