Backward Compatible

Standard

Backward Compatible: A Geek Love Story

A YA Gamer Geek Comedy in the vein of Scott Pilgrim andNick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Ideal for fans of The Big Bang Theory, The Guild, and all things Joss Whedon.

WARNING: There is no sex in this book. Your Kindle or other device will remain at a pleasant room temperature. At no point will your panties drop. Your significant other will be allowed to snore in peace as you read. You may, however, laugh yourself out of commission.

Not too long ago, in a town that, depending on your current location, is either not super far or actually quite close… (insert Star Wars theme music here…)

It is a time of chaotic hormones. 

Two nerdy gents home for winter break have discovered a female gamer at a midnight release.

During the break, the gamer trio manages to reveal the game’s secret boss, a hidden enemy with enough power to destroy anything in its path.

Pursued by other gamers who want to be the first to beat this boss, George and Katie race to level up, and, in so doing, restore decency and sexual activity to their personal galaxy.”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19311332-backward-compatible)

I’d like to thank NetGalley and SDE Press LLC for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

If someone were to ask me, I wouldn’t be able to tell them why I requested this book. What I would be able to them is, I’m glad I did. I wasn’t expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised by the two romantically awkward main characters.

This book has two very strong points when it comes to relationship development: no insta-love and no love triangle. Furthermore, it was really nice to read a NA book that doesn’t involve some sort of personal tragedy. Here, our main characters are regular people that need to overcome only their shyness and social reclusiveness.

The one thing that put me off a little bit was the excess of gamer vocabulary and sexual jokes. Both were used a bit too often, particularly the gamer vocabulary (I am not, by any means, a gamer girl, though I do enjoy my Xbox).

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s