Throwaway Girl

Standard

Throwaway Girl

Andy Burton knows a thing or two about survival. Since she was removed from her mother’s home and placed in foster care when she was nine, she’s had to deal with abuse, hunger, and homelessness. But now that she’s eighteen, she’s about to leave Haywood House, the group home for girls where she’s lived for the past four years, and the closest thing to a real home she’s ever known. Will Andy be able to carve out a better life for herself and find the happiness she is searching for?”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18851343-throwaway-girl)

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Dundurn for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

I have to say I was expecting more out of this book. Going in, I knew it was going to be a bittersweet read, with some downright heartbreaking scenes. I believe that, no matter where or why, having to live in an orphanage is not how a child should grow up. I also know that, at present, most, if not all, of the fostering systems in place are flawed.

While this book had several heartbreaking scenes, especially in the beginning, which prove how strong the main character is, I missed a plot. For me, this book felt as several events, put together for the sake of building a narrative, of setting a background. But I missed the why this book was written. What was the story it wanted to tell me?

It was a short, nicely written book, with interesting characters (all of the other girls at the orphanage, for instance), but, again, I missed the why Andy’s story was told. There wasn’t any redemption, nor any challenge beyond that of day to day life, nor any huge trauma to be overcome.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

