Between The Lives

Standard

Between the Lives

Above all else, though I try not to think about it, I know which life I prefer. And every night when I Cinderella myself from one life to the next a very small, but definite, piece of me dies. The hardest part is that nothing about my situation has ever changed. There is no loophole.

Until now, that is… 

For as long as she can remember, Sabine has lived two lives. Every 24 hours she Shifts to her ′other′ life – a life where she is exactly the same, but absolutely everything else is different: different family, different friends, different social expectations. In one life she has a sister, in the other she does not. In one life she′s a straight-A student with the perfect boyfriend, in the other she′s considered a reckless delinquent. Nothing about her situation has ever changed, until the day when she discovers a glitch: the arm she breaks in one life is perfectly fine in the other.

With this new knowledge, Sabine begins a series of increasingly risky experiments which bring her dangerously close to the life she′s always wanted… But just what – and who – is she really risking?”

– Taken from Goodreads (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17204984-between-the-lives)

I’d like to thank NetGalley and Hachette Children’s Books for providing me with a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

This book has a very interesting premise. It is also a premise that has the potential to give one a headache. You see, because Sabine lives two lives (every 24 hours she shifts between them), this leads to several questions, such as: what happens to the life she is not living at any given time? Is it frozen? Why does this happen? Isn’t Sabine the same person in both of the lives? If so, why does she have different personalities? While does questions were not really addressed, I would find myself thinking about them, getting close to getting a headache.

I also thought that the reasons for Sabine wanting to choose one of her lives were not exactly clear, nor strong enough to justify her actions. Maybe the craziness that Sabine lives through was not emphasized enough for me to understand her decision. I would also have to disagree with labeling of this book as a thriller. For me, it was more a romantic story, with self-discovery elements, than a thriller.

Ethan, whom Sabine meets as a consequence of a very stupid decision in my opinion, broke my heart. He was a very sweet character, with a devastating secret. I do have to say that, even though he did break my heart, he also mended it, so I forgive him. The ending was predictable, but pretty sweet. I would like to see a sequel, but, for now, this seems to be a stand alone novel.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Leave a Reply

